Author Topic: Drought in Korat  (Read 928 times)

Offline Johnnie F.

  • Administrator
  • Korat forum specialist
  • *****
  • Posts: 6624
    • Korat-Info
Drought in Korat
« on: April 08, 2010, 07:27:36 AM »
2nd Army joins water relief effort

The 2nd Army has joined moves to help distribute water to villagers in 19 northeastern provinces where many areas are facing severe drought.

This aerial photo of theYomRiver in Phrae wastaken during an inspection led by provincialgovernor Somchai Hatayatanti. It showssome sections of the river have experienced a drop in water levels because of the very hotanddry weather. THAWEESAKSUKKHASEM
Second Army commander Wiwalit Chornsamrit said yesterday Her Majesty the Queen had donated money to aid the effort which includes assistance to four villages in Mukdahan's Wan Hai district. Many houses in the district were damaged when a summer storm swept through the area.

In Nakhon Ratchasima, Col Patihan Rojanapirom of Fort Suratham Phitak yesterday led soldiers in distributing water in 22 villages in tambon Chong Maew in Lam Thamenchai district.

They drove trucks loaded with 250,000 litres of water to parched areas in the district where residents are desperate.

Lam Thamenchai is among 13 districts in Nakhon Ratchasima which have been declared drought disaster zones. The government has distributed more than 10 million litres of water to troubled areas in the province which lack water for farming and consumption.

The dry weather is unusually severe in Thailand this year for reasons ranging from unusual air mass and air pressure, the El Nino effect and increased greenhouse gases that cause global warming, Somchai Baimuang, deputy chief of the Meteorology Department, said.

The drought has ravaged farmland around the country, but the damage has not yet had a devastating impact on agricultural businesses, Agriculture and Cooperatives Minister Theera Wongsamut said yesterday.

He said 23,577 of 319,388 rai hit by drought had suffered damage so far. These farmlands are located in 15 provinces - Chiang Rai, Nan, Phrae, Phayao, Sukhothai, Lampang, Uttaradit, Kalasin, Nong Khai, Yasothon, Saraburi, Kanchanaburi, Satun, Prachuap Khiri Khan and Trang.

Bangkok Post