Author Topic: 29 provinces declared drought-hit  (Read 567 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Johnnie F.

29 provinces declared drought-hit
« on: March 18, 2012, 08:58:18 PM »
29 provinces declared drought-hit

Altogether 12,229 villages in 179 districts of 29 provinces have been hit by drought, the Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Department said on Sunday.

The 29 provinces which have been hit by drought since Feb 2 are Kamphaeng Phet, Lampang, Lamphun, Sukhothai, Nan, Phayao, Phitsanulok, Phrae, Uttaradit, Chiang Rai, Chiang Mai, Loei, Nong Khai, Nong Bua Lamphu, Si Sa Ket, Khon Kaen, Phetchaburi, Suphan Buri, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Kanchanaburi, Chanthaburi, Chachoengsao, Chon Buri, Trat, Phrae, Amnat Charoen, Maha Sarakham, Prachin Buri and Buri Ram.

Chiang Rai and Mae Hong Son provinces are still affected by haze.

Major dams throughout the country now have altogether 46,521 million cubic metres of water, or 66 per cent of their total capacity - 5,953 million cubic metres more than at the same time last year.

Bhumibol and Sirikit dams now hold 8,398 and 5,868 million cubic metres of water, or 62 per cent of their capacity.

Bangkok Post
No matter how tall the mountain is, it cannot block the sun. - Chinese Proverb